A ticket for reckless driving can have serious legal consequences in Georgia. Understanding the actions that fall into this category may help you avoid a citation.
Get the facts about the definition of and penalties for reckless driving in Georgia.
Understanding reckless driving
Any action behind the wheel that disregards the safety of other drivers, passengers and pedestrians can result in a reckless driving ticket. Common examples include but are not limited to passing in no-passing zones, failing to yield, failing to stop at a stop sign or red light, speeding, and weaving in and out of lanes of traffic. Aggressive driving also includes purposeful attempts to bother or harass another driver, such as in a road rage incident.
Some Georgia drivers may qualify for a downgrade of a driving under the influence charge to a reckless driving charge. For example, this may occur if the motorist committed one of the offenses described above and law enforcement suspected but was unable to prove substance use.
Reviewing reckless driving penalties
Georgia considers reckless driving a misdemeanor offense. Depending on the circumstances surrounding the incident, a convicted person may receive up to a year in jail and a fine of up $1,000. He or she may also receive four driver’s license points. Drivers may lose their driving privileges for accumulating 15 or more points in 24 months. However, they can also qualify for removal of some points with the successful completion of a defensive driving course.
Knowing what to expect when facing a reckless driving ticket can help Georgia motorists decide how to proceed.